Modifying an Existing Configuration

The properties of a Configuration document can be modified at any time to meet changing situations in the monitored environment.

When making modifications to any of the original pre-packaged Configurations that are supplied, it is strongly recommended that a manual copy be made first and saved with a new meaningful name. Making a copy will ensure that the original document is retained for future use, if required, and that modified documents will not be overwritten by any future upgrades.

Subsequent changes made to a running Configuration will be automatically saved when the Start button is selected. The changes will be saved into the 'My Displays & Configurations → Auto-Saved Documents' folder of the Document Navigator with the same file name including a date and time stamp.

Using the Windows Client

Modifying a Running Configuration

Changes can be made to a Configuration that is currently running on a server. This is done by accessing the Configuration’s Properties dialog box from the Node Navigator in the server folder where it is running.

In the Nodes Navigator, open the Configuration folder on the required server.

Right-click on the document name and select Properties from the context menu. This will open the Configuration Properties dialog box.

(Optional) If this is an original Configuration document (i.e. without any changes) it is recommended that a copy be made and saved. To do this select the Save As.. button on the Properties dialog box and save the document with a new name, e.g. 'NETWORK-Original', to an appropriate folder. After saving, close the Properties dialog and reopen the original document from the Node Navigator.

Make the required modifications. For details see Creating a Configuration.

When finished click on the Start button. This will automatically save a copy of the modified document to the 'My Displays & Configurations > Auto-Saved Documents' folder of the Document Navigator. It will also override the running document on the server  with the modified Configuration.

Click the Close button to close the Properties dialog box.

After making changes to running Configurations, the Web Application must be synchronised manually, see the section below for instructions

Syncing Changes with the Web Application

When changes are made to running Configurations using the Windows Client, they become out-of-sync with the Configuration store in the Web Application.

It is important to ensure that these Configuration stores are kept synchronised, therefore after making changes to Configuration files, re-sync the Web Application store using these steps:

Logon to the Web Application server to access the file system.

Locate the folder <Prognosis_Home>\Web\IIS\Administration\Config

Delete all the files named ircfg-<nodename>.xml

Modifying a Saved Configuration

In the Document Navigator locate the required Configuration document.

Right click on the document name and select Properties from the context menu. This will open the Configuration Properties dialog box.

(Optional) If this is an original Configuration document (i.e. without any changes) it is recommended that a copy be made and saved. To do this select the Save As.. button on the Properties dialog box and save the document with a new name, e.g. 'NETWORK-Original', to an appropriate folder. After saving, close the Properties dialog and reopen the original document from the Document Navigator.

Make the required modifications. For details see Creating a Configuration.

Click the OK button to save.

Using the Web Application

A Configuration can be modified from the Administration tool of the Web Application. To do this use the following steps.

Open and login to the Web Application - Administration tool - Home page.

Select the required server by highlighting the server name in the Managed Server panel (2nd from left).

In the main panel scroll down to the 'Static Configurations' section.

Locate the required Configuration name. If the Configuration is not currently running this will be indicated by an adjacent red icon, if it is running it will be shown with a green icon.

Click on the Configuration name, which will open the 'Update' page.

Made the required modifications.  For details see Creating a Configuration.

Click the Start button at the bottom of the page. Once started the Configuration will appear with a green icon in the main panel.

When making changes through the Web Application, no copies of the modified document will be automatically saved. Also, there is no provision for manually making a copy of the Configuration document through the Web Application.
Provide feedback on this article